UEFA have confirmed that eight teams have been sanctioned for breaches of Financial Fair Play over the last five years.

Teams competing in UEFA competitions last season were put under the microscope for the 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022 financial years, though 2020 and 2021 were assessed as one period due to Covid-19 emergency measures.

UEFA announced on Friday that eight teams will be fined for failing to meet their break-even requirements, with Monaco (€0.3m), Marseille (€0.3m), Besiktas (€0.6m), AC Milan (€2m), Juventus (€3.5m), Inter (€4m), Roma (€5m) and PSG (€10m) ordered to either pay up immediately or have these sums deducted from their prize pool from this season.

Further breaches would see each respective side charged again, with PSG handed the biggest punishment of another €55m payment if they don’t break even.

Surprisingly, UEFA found that sides from England and Spain all met their criteria and would not be punished.

However, they insisted that 19 clubs – Borussia Dortmund, Chelsea, Barcelona, Basel, Union Berlin, Fenerbahce, Feyenoord, Leicester City, Manchester City, Lyon, Rangers, Real B*tis, Royal Antwerp, Sevilla, Lazio, Napoli, Trabzonspor, Wolfsburg and West Ham United – have been placed on a watchlist as they either only scraped their requirements or ‘benefited from historical positive break-even results’.

These 19 clubs have been informed that they will not be given such leeway when their 2023 financial year results are analysed.

Credit: 90min.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *